100 day blogging challenge, 100 Days Blogging challenge, girls fight club, muay thai, sparring, Sport, Teaching, thaiboxing

Day 71 – The first time

Two days ago, I took 4 of my regular and one of my new girls to a ‘real gym’, and let them sparre each other (not the new girl). I’ve been super excited for this event, since we started to plan it, but on the other hand, I was also quite nervous.

I known the girls for a long time now. One of them almost a year. So I know they’re tough and often gives everything they got during training – but how they react, when they tried to hit one another? I had no idea.  Well, I did have an idea – cause we’re all girls. And most girls, unlike guys – perceive sparring with a great amount of caution and respect – and a bit hesitation. Where as guys sees sparring as just another very physical state of competing with each other, and often throws down, without any hesitation. Girls seem to take a small step at the time and offering a lot of apologies the first many times they hit someone.

My girls were great! They jumped in, and even they were holding back, you could tell, that they wanted to try it. Yet – ofcourse feeling a little insecure and new at it – but everyone loved it. No one cried, no one got scared. Of course I had 2 first rounds, with limited action: First round f.ex. only punch with left hand, right hand serve as guard.
So I think, it was a good way to introduce them to contact. A bit more controlled, with a keen focus on protection at the same time.

I still remember my first sparring. I finally was allowed to sparre, but got send in, with an experienced girl, who – as far as I recall, just wanted to kill me. lol. And it was all out. Legs and hands – kicks and punches – everything, with the trainer enthusiastic coaching the other girl. I remember, we ‘ran around a lot’ and finally I hit her hard on the nose, and she started crying. And that was it. No more sparring. The trainer never said anything to me. I switched gym shortly after that!

Own training:
Too many days without blogging 😦
Past three weeks, I’ve 2-3 weight sessions pr. week. (Legs only)
2 Swim sessions pr week (skipped  a week)
2 x FighterGirl classes a week
..And a run today, in the sun!

Standard

Leave a Reply

