100 Days Blogging challenge, Blogging, Sport, training

Day 82 – Do you train when you’re injured?

A simple question – do you train, when you’re injured?

Depending on the injury and the sport – it’s sometimes possible to go training with minor injuries. For my sport – thaiboxing, I’ve occasionally come to the gym, and not been able to train 100%. In those cases, I’ve always told the instructor, and when I had my first wrist problems, I just went on the bag instead of partnering up. (Holding pads for someone else was in most cases impossible if my wrist was to get better).

I don’t think, I ever encountered any problems coming to class on those occasions. Getting small injuries is a part of the game when you’re training hard and often – and for me, the answer have often been to keep training, but smarter and lighter. That way I’ve been able to keep my fitness, polish technique and same time nurture my injury.

This would not be suitable for all injuries or all sports – but for me this has worked in the past. My reason for this blog however, was a situation that occurred in the gym last night (where I was supposed to write this blog). My trainer got fed up with a guy, who constantly come to training with injuries, and always go: ‘I can’t do this and that’. I think they had a few exchanges of words, which I didn’t hear. But suddenly, I hear my kru basically asking the guy not to come back unless he could do the full class. As he (my kru) thinks, its unfair for the injured guys partner, that he would skip f.ex. holding pads or doing other work.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

