100 Days Blogging challenge, Blogging, muay thai, Sport, training

Day 86 – Training blog (MT & run)

Morning: 8K at a reasonable pace around the lakes in Copenhagen. Felt good after the first 3 -4K.

Evening: Muay Thai @Butchers Fight Gym. 1½ hour with Kru Toy and the BFG Muay thai team. Training consisted of the usual skipping/ running warm up, followed by a slight change on the pads. We did two rounds: 1 round boxing combo and 1 round box + kick combo – and after that – sparring for 20 min.

I teamed up with Camilla, who is the only other female (in ‘my size’). Even with a difference between our levels, I do enjoy training with her and she got a little stronger since I was in Denmark 18 months ago, and actually pack quite a right kick now.
So it’s a quite nice training when she’s there. The pace and power used on the pads are decent and we take it handy with the sparring.
Liam had a good training for once. He teamed up with a former Danish champion, so for once, he finally had a good strong partner, so he didn’t have to hold back.

I still don’t feel in shape to go toe to toe with the guys. Both times I’ve sparred or clinching with guys here in Copenhagen (BFG and Mikenta), the guys kind of have the ‘life or death’ pace – and I’m just not there yet in my cardio. So can’t really enjoy it – so I politely refused to spare with a guy last night, whom I judged to be ‘beginner’. No need for that – not until I’m in a better place anyway.

If you’ve read my blog from time to time, you’ll know I’ve been haunted by injuries around the wrist and elbows. Last night I got another one for the collection: Ganglion cyst. Plain textbook (most common in women, often in gymnastics or others who put a lot of pressure on the wrist): On top of the wrist, appeared during push ups – not painful.
It also say they usually disappear on their own. Which I hope. It kind of looks like a bone is sticking out of my hand now 😦

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

