Sport, thaiboxing, training

Do do run run again

Liam’s been at this running program for the past six weeks, and while I’ve some days been looking a little jealous of his runs and his commitment, I’ve been fine by hanging out at home, Sloughing on the internet. And of course I’ve been (and am) supportive of his running and commitment to the program – but I’ve felt fine about my training in my classes and the extra TRX I’m putting in at the moment, to not really bother getting into running myself.
-And I had that nasty experience with my knee getting all f***ed up after a run, a couple of months ago.

This saturday we somehow managed to get to Brucies for Thai boxing. Which was great – I always love a good thaibox training – especially now that my finger is fine. So had a blast, but also felt it was hard to go on the pads. I mean – of course I could do it for 5 or more rounds, if I had to. But it was tough and I felt my heartbeat in my throat.

'We're on a road to nowhere..and we're running!!'

‘We’re on a road to nowhere..and we’re running!!’

On the way home Liam said, he was happy we went thaiboxing after all. And he added, he felt really good about going on the pads, as he felt more in control of his heart rate (stamina) and could pick up or slow down the pace without getting out of breath. He noted, that it might come from all the running he’s been doing.

I thought about it and it makes sense. And I thought to myself, maybe I should try running too – with the program that is. (It’s a heart rate based program that ensures you don’t go 80% on all your runs and thereby burn out faster). So my mind was positive primed when Liam (yesterday) suggested that I join his program – and my goal is to see it this week out – and then decide from there, depending on knees and limbs.
There is 6 weeks left of the program and if all goes well after week 1, I’ll follow through the last 5.

Training update including past week:

Today (Monday): 6miles on 70%
Yesterday (Sunday): 10 miles 70-75%
Saturday: Muay Thai
Friday: Sprints with Liam (4x 800m + 2 miles jog + 1 mile 100s = 5.5 miles)
Thursday: 30 min TRX, 40 min. Circuit, FighterGirl Class
Wednesday: 1.5 hour Abs/’toning’/ Burpees
Tuesday: 20 min TRX, 20min Barbell ‘blast’, 20 min Core, 2 x FighterGirl Classes
Monday: Nothing

 

My diet is back to No Gluten – except I’m having a cheat day on saturday, where wheat & sugar is allowed. Needles to say, I’ve spent Saturday stuffing my head with chocolate stuff and a couple of mini pancakes and some Danish liquorice.
I’ve seem to be quite happy about this arrangement.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

