muay thai, thaiboxing

Saenchai – Muay thai legend

Friday I met with Saenchai (Kotmuay Muaythaigym) to do a short interview and to greet him welcome to Ireland. Being a friend of my trainer in Denmark KruToy, I’ve met Saenchai around the world with KruToy, so it felt natural and respectful to meet him here.

Now before I get to the point of todays blog, let m just say one thing! I should have scheduled the meeting til after the weigh-in, as it was clear that Saenchai was both little tired from travelling (from Thailand to Ireland) and probably also quite famished! (I know, I would be). But he was very kind and took some time to sit down with me, below you can see the second (and best part of the interview).

 

Now to the point! About a week ago, I posted a question on the Fight Club page on Facebook, asking the fight fans who their favorite Nak Muay (Thai boxer) is. While a lot got it mixed up with K-1 and answered Badr Hari, most people who picked a thai boxer, answered Buakaw or recently deceased (and way to early!!) Ramon Dekkers.

While I understand both answers: Buakaw has the looks of a living greek (Thai) God and the fierceness of a lion in the ring, and Ramon Dekkers can easily be called the best european thaiboxer ever – then I still have to disagree with most of the fans who answered the questions, cause my all time favorite fighter will without any doubt be Saenchai.

I know this is a very subjective question – up with favorite football teams etc. But, for me Saenchai is the essens of the beauty and complexity of muay thai – and he is a showman. At least when he fights foreigners!
Seeing Saenchai fight, is seeing so many aspects and ‘forgotten’ weapons of muay thai in action. It’s not just the raw power, explossive and forceful techniques many other fighters posses. Saenchai brings a deeper meaning of Muay Thai to his fights – at least thats how I see them. And if real life is to be compared to a movie, Saenchai would be Ong Bak – or a similar story of a fighter with the heart in the right place – humble, yet proud. Strong, fierce – yet gentle and ‘like water’ – as Bruce Lee would have said.

As a muay thai practitioner (means I train, teach and fight – or fought) and a somewhat of a fight connoisseur, Saenchai has always had a special place in my heart. Even before I met him – just from watching him fight, unlocks emotions and worlds of understanding that fighting as a sport is much more than sport, expressions of power and deep consequence of competitiveness.
For some people like Saenchai, the art of fighting is the very expression of the human being.

It’s in a place where everything is meant to be, no movement unnecessary. No energy wasted – it’s a perfect composition, and I would implore everyone – whether you like fight sport or not, to see Saenchai fight, if you have the opportunity.
He is a true living legend, and I’m sure history will agree with me. Aside from all the others great and impressive fighters – Saenchai stands out as a one in a million.

Liam, Saenchai & me

Liam, Saenchai & me

Ps. For those who saw Saenchai fight in Cork, Ireland yesterday (saturday 9th march), it’s obvious that he is a show man as well, the way he moved the crowd – and btw. what a crowd!! The Neptune stadium was boiling, when he was fighting!
And if you haven’t seen him before, you might even think, that he was in trouble from time to time. But google/ youtube some of his others fights against foreigners, and you will see, he always lets them into the fight – just a bit. Just to give the audience their money worth and often a full 5round fight. Liam Harrison and Fabio Pinca as exceptions – from his own mouth, two very powerful and strong opponents.

Pps. If you’re in Thailand in beginning of April – I think he said April 7th or 9th. Saenchai is figthing in Lumpini against the best thai opposition there is right now: Singdam. (They are 1-1). Go see the fight!! That would be a real fight!!

Standard

Leave a Reply

