Blogging, Food, social self, Sport, strength training, training

Set backs

We all have them from time to time. Smaller or larger – short or longer. The set backs that reminds us, we are merely humans. Strong but fragile, iron-willed but weak. Progress is two-step forward and one step back.

Yesterday I posted a photo of a beginning mid-section, which wanted to come out to the world and today, I’ve been suffering the most brutal ‘I want a scone/ muffin/ cake/ cookie’ mood. Weather has been shi* over here in Ireland today (worse than usual), so have been miserable, cold and wet and on top of this, I realized I forgot my camera in Clonakilty, so have to go and get it tomorrow (after seeing Saenchai and Mr. Thakoon) = making Liam drive for 2 hours. A task he is not getting to happy about!!
Also I might have to cancel my seminar on saturday due to lack of interest.

So today has been shi*e! And I really wanted to cuddle up with a cup of warm tea or nice latte, a ‘something sweet, wheaty, chocolaty I-feel-sorry-for-me’ kind of treat. But so far I’ve made it without. A lunch time kettlebell class in CIT saved me from drowning my worries in scones (CIT’s is by far the best I’ve had in Ireland. Only they don’t come with cream 😉 ), so here I am… thinking about how set backs comes and goes.

I know a few of ‘my’ FighterGirls have set backs too. Or they’re not coming to training these days – so unless they’ve found another gym/ class, they’re feeling a bit of a set back in their training. As for me – I’ve had enough set backs in my training (injuries, no gym/ trainer, more injuries) to know, that I’m getting back up and back into the swing of things after a day or a week top. But for the girls – I don’t know. I know, that the longer you stay away, the harder it can become to return.
Your body is getting lazy and you’re becoming better making excuses. Soon staying home and do nothing becomes everyday life and we as humans, often grow content with this. Telling ourselves ‘It doesn’t matter anyway. I never get fit’, ‘I can always start next monday’ or ‘I never get good anyway, so what’s the point’.
We tell ourselves these things and believe them for a while, until one day, we realize our pants shrunk too much and we either have to buy new ones or get our as* off the couch.

I have my new game ON’ these days. Flying the clean diet banner high and feeling strong! But today… gosh, what I wouldn’t do for a scone, with cream & jam!

 

Scones with cream & jam. Just looking at it... sigh! ;)

Scones with cream & jam. Just looking at it… sigh! 😉

 

For anyone curious – My Strength & conditioning program week 3, day 1:

 

Snatch 4×4
Squat 4×4
Goodmornings 4×4
Push Ups 3x 10 (replacing pull ups with push ups due to broken finger)

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

