Sport, training

Broken but mending

So I had a close encounter with the Irish health system last friday. After two months of swelling and pain in my finger, a doctors visit that led to no-where, I was ready for the A&E test (Accidents & Emergency).
Now, while my finger had gone from an emergency to an accident, it was still severe – being fat & painful. Never the less, CUH (Cork University Hospital) had me waiting for nearly 6 hours for an X-ray.
Only to be told by a severly overweight doctor (who sounded like Apu from Simpsons): ‘If you come two months ago, you would not have this problem’.

I mean: WTF!!%¤#”” No shit Sherlock! I waited 6 hours for that??

Yes I did, and I’m paying 100 euro for it too – courtesy The A&E staff at CUH & The Irish Health Care system.

This is great, so I thought I should wait around a bit more. Just short of three hours waiting the next day, and I do get to see a physiotherapist at the ‘Broken bone clinic’. She is actually listening to me, and I’m told my finger is indeed broken (clean-cut almost), but it’s mending. However, I shouldn’t punch anything – or lift anything heavy.
(So much for slamming the fat doctor and GnP him 😉 )

Anyway, It’s fair to say she restored a bit of my faith in health professionals – and I’m really trying to comply with her perscriptions. No boxing with the right hand – or heavy lifting.

Also mending this week is my relationship with the PR Company in London. Not sure if they just got better at their job, or if it’s due to my friend from Holland /Glory organisation, but I did receive a very informative and almost friendly mail this morning. Which Im very happy for. I hope this will be a great event – and besides watching some of the worlds best K-1 fighters, I also get to see a long lost friend. And with a hopefully friendly PR company to help/ provide me with schedules etc. It can only be a great weekend!

Training schedule since hospital visit:

Saturday: Muay Thai – 1rd of pads (just kicks) + 18 rds of bag work (kicks, Knees, elbows & left hand)
Sunday: 5K easy run/jog
Monday:
Modified S&C Week 3 programe:

Snatch 4x 4 – 20kg
Goodmornings 4x 4 – 40 kg
Squats 4×4 – 50kg

Rest of the week will probably look like this. No heavy weights – squats & goodmornings and left hand work!

Training schedule before hospital was a lot of classes + 2 weeks of S &C program.

I’m doing a free seminar this saturday (march 9th) in RB Fitness. If you’re an Irish female in Cork, come and join!
Also Saenchai – worlds best p4p fighter is in Cork. He’s a friend of my trainer KruToy and I hope, I’ll have an interview with him this weekend!

the gathering muay thai

Standard

Leave a Reply

