Sport, Teaching, training

Reflections

I previous mentioned that Ninna was visiting from Denmark this week. (She just left this morning…. way early!) What I didn’t mention was, that she is a retired fighter with fights in Boxing and thaiboxing – and now is active as a judge and trainer in boxing.
I also didn’t mention, that she came to my FighterGirls classes and took over the teaching process (for about half an hour).

Before she came, ‘d send her my working schedule (which left too little time for us, to hit out on the irish roads and see the country side), and I asked her, if she wanted to come and train with the girls. (I actually offered her to come and train in all my classes/ or gym training, so she wouldn’t get too bored). She said yes to train my girls.

Without realizing it (until now), it was the first test of The FighterGirls Club concept. Since the birth of my ‘FighterGirl baby’ three months ago, the only person who’s been training these girls have been me. The only eyes who spotted errors, mistakes, techniques – was mine. Only voice who asked them to work more and work harder – mine too.

And before even thinking about it, I brought perhaps Denmark’s best female boxing coach to my classes – to see my ‘students’, who are not ‘real’ FighterGirls. (We don’t sparre or have physical contact). Didn’t realize it would open myself and ‘my girls’ up to critique -> but of course it did. Ninna is a strong minded and strong opinionated woman.

So she told me – she actually liked the girls. Could even see potentials in them! I was a very proud ‘mum’ right then and there!

Despite some hard times atm., her remark made my heart warm, and it makes all the effort I put into this worth it. My girls are going to be top class FighterGirls!

Glamour Victoria girl ;)

Glamour Victoria girl 😉

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

