ross training, Sport, training

Delayed Happy 2013

Another blog-out! A period of not getting to sit down, write down my usual activities. I’ve missed blogging and making this kind of connection with the world, so I’m happy to find myself here again. Taking my time, choosing my words.

I hope we all get a fantastic 2013! I know, mine will be fab, since I’ve made a few plans and set a few goals for this new year. More of this later!

Mine started well with two FighterGirl sessions, before I went to Austria for a week. However my second class with the FighterGirls revealed how bad my form is these days. I’ve planned a Ross session for warm up – and originally scheduled it for 9 minutes. No breaks.
Girls fell apart after 1½ set, so we ended up on 6 minutes – and I have to admit, I was seeing sun, moon and stars as well.

Now the original Ross goes with 30 seconds break in between sets. 1 set = 3 min., but it’s my experience from Fitness.dk & pure fighter/ muay thai classes, that it’s often a tad to long. So a 9 minute set with no breaks is king of Ross, I’ve found.

So off I went to Austria, nearly defeated by a 6 minutes Ross. I couldn’t believe it and wouldn’t accept it. I therefor made it a goal to do a Ross every day – adding a set more. Before we left Austria I was up on 24 minutes total. Any idea how many burpees this is? Most my rounds was 10-11, a few 9 or 12. Which is a bit off my average burpees pr. 30 sec was 12-13 back in Copenhagen.

2013 will bring more challenges than burpees. I’m starting a new job tomorrow in another Womens only gym, and one of my new challenges will be to tame the real ryderz bike. (the next step up from your usual spinning bike). I look really forward to this and to start working with Brenda and Connor who runs the gym. I think we’re on the same page – and not just in it for the money: But actually want to make a positive difference!

Austria was great with Liam and his lovely family! The third day snow fell heavily, so we got a lot of snow walks, tobogganing and snow fights. Unfortunately skiing is expensive and not that nearby, so we couldn’t go. Not even sure I’d remember how to – but would love to try again…if nothing else, then just to be terrified going down and crash into a pile of snow.

Here’s to 2013! Image

If you feel up for it – This Ross is:
30 sec Burpees
30 sec Jumping Jacks
30 sec Lunges/ squats (alternating every other time)
30 sec Burpees
30 sec Jumping Jacks
30 sec Push ups
– 30 sec break or none –

Standard

Leave a Reply

