Sport, strength training, Teaching, training

Got squat ?!?

Something funny happened in the gym (again today). I was up in Mayfield to get a little session of my own, and while I was squatting, a huge guy came up to me and said: ‘It’s good to see women squatting’. I smiled and nodded politely, trying to reply squat is good for everybody, but he cut me off and then proceeded on to say: ‘Don’t ever feel embarrassed or threatened to come to the gym, just because there’s a bunch of guys lifting weights here’ (nodding over to his friends doing bench and flys).

I’m still smiling politely and am about to mutter some reasonable reply – which are stuck, cause I’m not sure what to say. At this point, I’ve been in the gym for about 15 minutes – squatting. He then mumbles something and walks away, take his bag and proceed to the exit. I just got time to squeeze out a little half ‘Thank you’.

I’m actually not sure, why I still find these moments funny – but I do.

It happened before, and it will probably happen again: Guys feeling the need to commentating a female on the free weights. I’m ok with that! Comment at me!

Wednesday (today):
Squat
10x 20kg warm up
2x 5x 30kg
2x 5x 40kg
2x 5x 45kg
4x 50kg
3x 50kg
– Getting up there. Funny first two 50 was easy – then I adjusted my stance and it felt crap. Anyway, nice to feel a little strength left, despite so many months since squatting regularly.

Front Squat:
5x 20kg
5x 25kg
2x 5x 30kg
– Quite easy, will up the weight next

Front squat super set with strict Pull / Chin ups:
5,4,3 (pull ups),5,4,3 (Chin ups)

Goodmornings:
5x 20kg
2x 5x 30kg
2x 5x 40kg
-Quite easy 40’s

Lats:
5x 30kg
5x 35kg
2x 5x 40kg
5x 45kg
– Last set hard enough

Hanging leg raises – super controlled and with pause at the top
6x 5

BoR:
2x 5x 20kg
5x 22.5kg
– Still got some strength despite elbow and wrist fuck. Both seems better, but going to push regular push ups/ dips/ bench ect.  for another week. Hopefully it keep getting better – and by next week – be gone! (here’s to hoping!)

Abs & Back on swissball
5x 20

Stretching – Nice!

Tuesday:
5.7 K – normal pace
2 classes: The FighterGirl Club & Mayfield
-Despite the nice article in The Cork News no new girls showed up because of that, but a few due to word of mouth. I have a feeling it might be the lack of ‘No Contact’ fighter fit training mention in the paper. It does sounds a small bit like it’s a real fighter class. Anyway, am not too bothered. I’m sure the class will take off even more than it has. It’s a great class and my girls love it – and I love getting them fighter fit! (as much as possible with just two days a week.. If it were for real.. I know.. different story!). Anyway, noticed one of my girls have started toning up, others are kicking better, getting stronger and they all doing their push ups without sticking the butt up! So proud!! (big heart inserted here).
Mayfield is busy as usual and girls here also very hardworking and enthusiastic! So thankful to do these two classes.

Monday:
5.7k 70% run

 

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Got squat ?!?

  1. As a dude I’ll give you my thoughts here … I like to see women doing strong lifts, properly and with passion- really getting into it. Toss the typical “guy” in the gym cliches away, seeing a woman mixing it up with the boys is pretty cool!

  2. Thanks for your input! Always good to hear from the ‘other side’ so to speak. I think, I get what you’re saying, and I like that attitude!
    I thought it was pretty considerate of him to bid me welcome, but a bit funny too, cause I’ve was at it for about 15 min. before he walked over. Anyways, always nice to make friends in the gym, and who knows, maybe I need a spotter when I’m starting benching again? 😉

Leave a Reply

