muay thai, Sport, training

Is sprints harder on mondays?

Just home after 6x 400m sprints. And it was just not fun today. Well – it’s never really, really fun, but today seemed like a disaster. 10 bpm down from my max, only a few weeks ago, on the same track. Weird!
It felt just as hard, but heart rate monitor speaks the truth: It wasn’t.

I’m not sure if it’s due to monday – coming after a weekend with NO cardio (only strength training and muay thai). Or the fact, that I only ran 1.2K for warm up? In any case, I’ll have to do sprint test again next week and check my numbers. I did hill sprints two weekends ago, and I didn’t managed to get my heart rate up to max either. So next week – track and I, once again!

Flower photo from this summer… went by too fast (actually never really arrived here in Ireland)

Thursday:
6K 70% run
3x Boxercise classes (CIT, FighterGirls Club, Mayfield)

Friday:
6K 70% run

Saturday:
90 min Muay thai, bag work primarily, 95% kick and knees due to wrist. Right kick felt great, strong – good technique and landed 9 out 10 as I wanted it to. Left maybe 50/ 50 – definitely need to work more on this. Knees felt good. I miss boxing thou.. but was so liberating to kick again!
Strength training core x3:
20 Saxon ww/ 10kg
20 Evil wheels
2×20 sides (l&r)
2x 20 Back ext (upper and lower)

Sunday: Looking out on the rain

Monday:
6x 400m sprints
5.5 K total

Core session tonight

Standard

One thought on “Is sprints harder on mondays?

Leave a Reply

