Sport, strength training, Teaching, training

Does sport makes us better women?

Working with – in – and ‘on’ (my) sport, is very rewarding for me on many levels (otherwise I wouldn’t waste my time on it) and I’m sure it have somehow made me a better person (woman).
I watched the ‘Born for the fight’ videos on You Tube and in the third episode a gym owner explains how Muay Thai made him a better man. It made him want to take in the young poor boys of his village, teach them, train them, put them through school, feed them and give them values and discipline.

It resonated with me, that the sport which have given him so much, made him want to pass it on. As I’ve stated in many posts before, that’s why I like teaching: I want to pass on my joy – I want to ‘give back’.

Sledgehammer training (on a rare summer day)

On a more societal level, I think sport have made me a better woman:
* Having trained for all these years, I’m confident walking home alone at night-time whether in New York or Clonakilty
* I cherish working in a team, even my sport are individual: No one gets strong all alone!
* I’ve also realized, I’m stronger than I think
* I enjoy feeling my body is healthy, strong and capable (of what I might throw at it)
* Even I sometimes feel like crying while at it, I do like the feeling of pushing myself (or being pushed) to perform better and do things, I wasn’t sure I could do

I think being active in sport, does makes us better women (and men), because it teaches us to have confidence in ourselves. To take on challenges. To learn to trust others (our trainers and team mates). And it also allows us (as women) to be aggressive, strong and dominating in a world full of contradictions to what ‘a real woman’ is.

If you’re a female reader of mine – I’d love to hear what sport/ fitness/ fight sport means for you!  (And if you’re a man, I’d like to know likewise. What does sport/ fitness means to you?)

Training update for past week:
Tuesday: Track run (20 min), 2x Boxercise classes ( The FighterGirls Club and Mayfield)
Wednesday: 13K run in the city (including 3 stair case hill sprints. St. Patrick Hill)
Thursday: 3x Boxercise classes (CIT, The FighterGirls Club and Mayfield)
Friday: Core session with Ania in RB Fitness (made me realize, I haven’t been doing strict core in over 1 year)
Saturday: Hill sprints in Clon x5 (5K total) + Core session:
10min skipping warm up
*Evil wheel
* Weighted sit ups
* Sideways sit ups (x2)
4 drills, 4 sets and 10, 15, 20 & 25 for reps
Sunday: Relaxing. Went to see Skyfall with Liam. Great entertainment, thous reminded a small bit of Batman

This past week I’ve come across two strong women in sport:

Standard

One thought on “Does sport makes us better women?

Leave a Reply

