muay thai, Sport, Teaching, training

Laying the foundation for happines

These days, I’ve yet again ‘broke the rules of conformity’ and decided to try it out on my own. First time I did this, was when I quit my very well paid PR job in Copenhagen, to pursue a career as freelance journalist and photographer. (Still working with this: I just turned in a short article on Tivoli, Copenhagen to The Irish Time).
This time around in Ireland – I didn’t quit (was asked to not come back, because of my ethics as a fitness professional), but I once again jumped out and trying to create something on my own  – this time for and with others.

The FighterGirls Club is my new baby. It’s all the best from my years with Martial Arts: Muay Thai, kickboxing, boxing and Taekwondo. It’s all about having a great time – celebrating life. Getting stronger, fitter, better and faster – and getting the girls in my classes to do more, than they thought they could.

Today is one of those days, where it just felt ‘Right’. Like things are starting to come together. The girls (of all ages and sizes) who came in tonight (and day in CIT) just did amazing – and had fun at the same time. The glow on someone’s face who just had a brilliant time is worth gold. Eyes shinning, mouth a big smile, red cheeks and hair wet with sweat.
This is how I love seeing ‘my girls’ – and it makes all the extra trouble of starting ‘my own thing’ worth it.

I’ve come across several sites and stories lately, about how we are afraid to ‘be who we are’. How many people live like zombies to support themselves and their families. It reminds me how I could easily have stayed in my well paid job in Copenhagen and been unhappy, or told the bosses in Womens Fitness what they wanted to hear, instead of my genuine opinion. These realizations made me feel really blessed, that I can do what I love – even I’m living on a stone, and don’t have money for shoes or hairdresser.

Maybe this is my path – sharing what makes me happy (be it muay thai, stories, photos, research). Maybe I’m laying foundation to happiness. I think I’m on some path anyway.. we’ll see in the future, if this is mine!

After my first muay thai fight (with Liam in my corner) – a very happy moment

 

Standard

One thought on “Laying the foundation for happines

  1. Pingback: Building Happiness: Helping Others

Leave a Reply

