Sport, Teaching, training

Fitness ethics – Take responsibility for your health

Coming to Ireland from Denmark has opended my eyes to the matter of professional ethics in the fitness industry and that have made me thinking about my own ethics as a fitness professional.

I’ve just started up ‘The FighterGirls Club‘ here in Cork, and it’s been really important to me, to be honest about my ‘product’ and the results the girls can get. I don’t want to join the endless list of salesmen in disguise of fitness professionals, who promises quick, pain free, effortless (weight loss) results.

So it’s basically my site is saying: I can help you lose weight – shape up – get fit and toned. Even get you in the ring: But there is no easy short cuts! It’s hard work, but if you’re willing to put in the effort – I be right there beside you.

It pains me to know that a lot of the women, I’ve trained at my old job (in Womens Fitness Plus, Cork), is now being lured into buying expensive supplements, they don’t need – and from the look of Facebook pages it’s not the only gym, who sells ‘magic pills’ and promises of gold.

I understand the need to make money. Heck, I want to make money too! and I understand how tempting it is, if a sales representative from a supplement company tells you ‘If you up the sale by 30%, you can make even more money on selling the stuff‘. But I think Greed is a bad excuse to prey on womens problems with their bodies – the constant weight loss battle most women faces in points of their lives. It’s tasteless and bad form in my opinion.

I’ve joined the fitness world, because I love fitness! I love training, I love fighting (even I’ve been a nervous wreck) – and I love all the people who trained me through my career. All the effort, the knowledge they put into our time together – and that’s why I love teaching – I love giving back. Getting people to feel the benefits of being physical active, share the happiness endorphins bring and the satisfaction when you can slip into your pants, without sucking it in.
Making money from it, is a benefit – and of course a necessary one in our society – but I’m in it for LOVE!

To my sad realization, there is a few people in the industry, who doesn’t have a clue about training, fitness, diets or supplements, who will say anything to make an extra euro. I pity them, and I feel sad for their members/ clients.

But since greed is probably not gonna run out of style anytime soon, you can’t rely on the Fitness industry to follow any ethics for its field. Therefor the best weapon you can get is KNOWLEDGE.
Before you take your purse up to pay 70euro for a bucket of protein powder or what ever – go home, google the product, read up on it (not on the manufacturers site, but independent testers like me with the CLA test) and make your own decision.

For example: Most people eat enough protein through their daily meals (if they lift heavy weights, they’ll benefit from extra ) – but for most a handful of nuts, beef jerky or a slice of chicken would suffice.

So please use your sense and don’t trust gym owners or trainers blindly. It’s not like we’re doctors and bound by a professional ethic to always look out for your best. Unfortunately time here in Ireland have taught me, some only look out to fill their wallet.

Now in the end of my ethic blog: Don’t use this as an excuse to stay home! Most gyms and trainers are just like me: In it for the love and they strive to give the best teaching and up to date knowledge. So go to your gym, train, enjoy yourself and become stronger and fitter than the day before.

Take responsibility for your own health!

Training update:
Thursday: 3x classes (Did two full as the classes was small and uneven numbered). Pretty wrecked today
Friday: Recovery run edited: 30 min on tracks, including x 5 pull ups

Standard

Leave a Reply

