Sport, training

Heart rate monitor training part II

Today I ran yet another 70% run, or I tried to. I felt most of the time, I could just have walked at a brisk pace. It was really not that enjoyable, I had to slow down every time I felt comfortable. And I’m really talking of slowing down. Almost to a ridicules pace where power walkers would have over-taken me. All because my heart rate was 10-15 bpm up from the 70% pace. So today was a bit of a struggle – even without traffic lights, hills and road crossings – things that normally spike my heart rate when running here.

But it was still a good 35min trip around the track, had sunshine half the time and could feel the warm sun beams on my back. Lovely and enjoyable to run outside and being kissed by the wind and the sun.

Training journal from past week:

Monday: Olympic weightlift training. Lot’s of broomstick action and a bit of C&J with the bar.
Tuesday: Boxercise class at Mayfield. Really cool class and we get to kick, since they have decent equipment! Lovely!
Wednesday: Olympic weightlifting. Less broomstick action than monday, and I could snatch with the bar!
App.: 5x 5 C&J @20kg bar, 3x 5 snatch @20kg bar.
Thursday: 5K at 70%, 2x Boxercise classes: CIT and Mayfield

Another week in Ireland almost done… wonder what the next brings!

Liams toy – I get to play with it sometimes 😉

Standard

Leave a Reply

