muay thai, Sport, training

Another training re-cap + thoughts on judges in the fight game

Time for another training re-cap – starting back in September:

Thursday: 6.8K with Liam (fast paced run)
Friday: Slow-mo run for 40 min run (70%)
Saturday: Roscarberry 5K fun run.
Liam and Jamie (Liam’s brother) had talked about doing the race the whole week, but Jamie stayed home, so it was just Liam & I on the road. I packed my bag to go for a leisure run while Liam was racing, and hadn’t plan on running the course. Liam somehow talked me into doing it (as he always does somehow) and I ended up getting 3rd place for the women. 23 overall I think. Not a great time, but took it nice and handy on the first half of the route, since I didn’t knew it. (Loop 2.5K x 2= 5K run), so can only be happy with the result.
Sunday: Rest day

Monday: Olympic weightlift training: Thanks to my injuries it was a night with the broomstick for Snatch and Clean & Jerk. Oly bar for Clean pulls only. Didn’t feel like a proper session, but nice to know, I still got the technique!
Tuesday: Did I do any runs??
Wednesday: 30 min of slow mo run followed by another session of Oly weightlifting – just as light as monday. Ended night with 2x 4 pull ups – still got a small bit strength left!
Thursday: Speed day.
1K warm up, then 6x 400m sprints, 200m walk/ jog in between + 2 Boxercise classes
Friday: Fish & Chips with Liam’s mum and Hans – Not really a training day, but good for feeling slightly Irish

Anthony Kane vs Craig Jose at Neptune Stadium Oct. 6th, 2012.

Saturday: Not training related, but gonna put this in anyway!
Neptune Stadium hosted the huge Siam Warriors event, which meant, not only some of Irelands best Nak Muays in action, but also a visit from legendary Liam Harrison. I’d really looked forward for this event and have been offering the best help I could give to promote it: One world – One Muay thai – One Love.
So it was with joy Liam and I went in saturday night. And there were some great match up in between. Amongst a stunning performance by Anthony Kane against Craig Jose. After the first round Jose looked like he had Kane figured out, but midway in second round Kane sank in a heavy right hand and send Jose to an 8 count. Jose got in trouble but got saved by the bell, and somewhat bounched back in the third round, while Kane just kept patiently waiting for the next mistake by Jose. It came in the fourth and Kane got the KO. Had definitely not seen that coming from the 1st round – Anthony Kane is packing some heavy, accurate hands!

Then there was a lesser and more dark side to the event: Some unfortunate poor judge performances! A good judge is someone who’s presence you don’t notice in the ring – and if you do, it’s only to put fighters safety first. Unfortunately the Irish ISKA judges present in Neptune Stadium was making themselves noticed several times that night. And it was not for the good.
They clearly have NOT been to a seminar in Muay thai rules and point system. Coming from ISKA – a traditional Kickboxing organisation, I’m sure they’re very competent as kickboxing or K-1 judges, but Muay Thai – they didn’t have a clue! Totally disregarded the value of the Clinch game – which is half of the fight. No feeling  for ‘Wall of Defense‘ or different point scores in Power techniques vs. powerless techniques. No clue about ‘Ring generalship‘ – Ok, this is a tough one to grasp, but still! If you’re judging others performance, the least you could do is to learn the rules and regulations for the sport in question. After watching and commentating hundreds of fights -and even being in a judging chair myself, I think judging is a huge responsibility and a job that should not be taking lightly. You’re basically in a position where you can make or break a fighter and his/ hers dreams.
It’s a shame when what you remember the most from a fight, is a horrible judge performance!

Sunday:

 

New week – new post will be coming. I plan to continue with another week of Oly training. See how my injuries are doing, hopefully also get a trip into a thaiboxing gym this week – and yeah – a little running.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Another training re-cap + thoughts on judges in the fight game

  1. Adrian says:

    These Judges do not have a background judging K1 and Kickboxing, they are some of the most experienced highly regarded and best muay thai judges in england, people will always have different opinions on who the result should go to and thats fair enough. The majority of decisions were clear cut but in the closer fights i think the Judges did a very good job and scored all fights accurately, just my opinion.

    • Taninja says:

      Hi Adrian,

      Thank you very much for taking time to add your opinion. I knew, when I wrote the piece, that it’s a subject which might get people thinking, and I’m happy you reflected on it and put it to words.

      Now, for your reply. The reason why I thought they were K-1/ Kickboxing judges was the fact, that the event had ISKA titles on the line. ISKA is originally a kickboxing association, which in the later years also took upon themselves to introduce K-1 and Muay Thai titles. And since they were very good at judging according to K-1 and Kickbox rules, I wrongly assumed they were ISKA judges.

      Secondly, Being the best judges in UK or the world for that matter, doesn’t mean you’re flawless or can’t have a bad day in the office. Lot’s of things can interfere with your performance on the day – and this is something that goes for everybody. And judging is a harsh task: When you’re doing your job well, nobody notice you, but when you’re making a single mistake people will speak out loud. It might not be fair, but that is how it is. (Just ask football referees).

      Finally, I agree that most fight that night was clear cut and most of them judged fairly. However those few instances where it really came down to the more subtle muay thai ruling, I really must dissagree with you. There was a disregard to the ‘Ring generalship’ code in regards to both clinch, aggression and power, which was quite obvious.

      Now, I have to add, that I have NO stocks in this. I know my critique might have cost me some friends in Irish Muay thai, and I also know that people agreeing with me, will never come out and say so here – as to not become unpopular and labeled as a troublemaker, like me. But I’m from Denmark, I come from a life with martial arts – as a team/ club member, fighter, trainer and professional sport commentator & journalist. I don’t belong to any gym in Ireland, I don’t mingle with any of the fighters on the show privately, or know them personally. A few I met shortly face to face, or seen in other shows. Even the promoter, whom I think the world of, I don’t know personally. (But I am happy Facebook friend with a few incl. the promoter)

      What I’m trying to say, my critique is for me and the readers of my blog. I air it, because it’s a subject close to my heart, and because I was brought up believing that if you were unhappy with something and wanted to make it better – You had to do something about it. My comment is my way of doing something – hoping that it will make judges want to be better judges

      Oh, and I should also state again, that I LOVED the event. I have the most respect for the promoter, the fighters and the crowd at Neptune. I would recommend it to everyone I know – Loved the atmosphere the irish crowd made, the fighters and the professionalism of the event (running smoothly is an understatement). I just don’t like bad ruling – it’s a position where you can make or break a fighters dream.

Leave a Reply

