Sport, Teaching, training

Heart rate monitor training

For the past two weeks (I think), I’ve been practising the ‘Heart rate monitor’ training on my runs. That means instead of going ‘As fast as you can pace’ for x-k, I’ve tried to do my runs at the recommended 70% pace.

It’s harder than it sounds! First of, it’s so easy to get into a nice rhythm (runners will know, what I’m talking about), where you enjoying yourself, the pace and the run – only to find, you’re running to fast. Secondly it’s almost impossible to run at 70% pace in Ireland = there’s too many hills!! + I found that crossing a street with or without light signals, spike my heart rate to go through the roof.

However it also made my runs more enjoyable. Partly because of the extra challenge (of keeping track of the heart rate), and partly because running this slow doesn’t wear me out! Legs feel fresh even with 5-6 days a week run.

Program also include 1 day a week with max effort: Preferably sprints. I ran with Liam Tuesday. That must be my effort run for the week.

The program is designed to increase your pace over distance runs (short and longer). I’m intrigued to see results in the weeks ahead.

CLA TEST Updates:

3 week into the CLA test:
Fat percentage (CLA’s biggest claim = help burns fat):
1 week: 22%
2 week: 22.9%
3 week: 22%

Bodyweight is up with 0.2kg

Measures are down for waist, tummy and hip (see slips for more details), but that’s expected output from the running.

Measurements

Tanita slips

 

Will continue my CLA test the last week and post updates on this as well on my Heart rate monitor training.

Training this week so far:
Monday: Run 6.2k to work (slow mo run) (in Asics Rush 33)
45min Kettlebell (teach and participate)
Boxercise class (teach)

Tuesday: Around 8K with Liam (tempo run) (Puma minimalistic)

Wednesday: 6.2K to work (trying to run slow, but failed. Another tempo run) (Asics Rush 33)
Boxercise (teach)
PT (teach and participate)

 

Standard

One thought on “Heart rate monitor training

  1. Pingback: Fitness ethics – Take responsibility for your health « Taninja's Blog

Leave a Reply

