Sport, training

Yes! I can stand

Yesterday I finally got my first surf lesson down at Inchydoney beach. And what a treat! Great waves (at least for a beginner) were rolling in on the beach, and after a few ‘body boarding’  and ‘paddling’ trips, our instructor showed us how to get up on the board – and so I did! (For a few seconds 😉 )

Surfing was a lot of fun! Felt like a child again, rolling around in the water, getting up on the board – trying to get balance, and catch the right wave. It was – however also a bit of a work out: The board does get heavy, running/ walking in water (against the current) and of course the ‘jumping on – falling off’ board makes this a fun – yet hard session. I see why surfers are so lean 😀

Only thing I can think of mentioning for newbies, except for try it is: Get a wet suit that you’re size, unless you want to end up looking like a little fat black turtle like me. (See photo for details)

Wednesday also had:

8K in the hills
2 hours of Surfing (Guess 1.45 of practical time)
1 hour of Thaiboxing (Think I died at least once during training!)

Today:
Internet and coffee! (Might go for a run later)

Carrying my yellow shield

 

And some good news for my Womens Fitness Ladies:
I’ll teaching the Kettlebell and Ab Attack class next tuesday (august 7th) – so get your ‘Bells’ on and let’s get rocking! Looking forward to see you again!

Standard

Leave a Reply

