muay thai, ross training, Sport, Teaching, training

Backlogging the week

Blog updates and runs haven’t been really happening here on the country side. No internet or phone connection and very bad weather made sure of both.

So the week has passed with work, a few Ross sessions and some small lessons in regards to eat. Let’s start from the beginning:

Monday: Excellent Kettlebell class and Boxercise at Womens Fitness. Some of the regulars in my KB class, are stepping up on the weight. Maybe it will soon be time to ask management for bigger bells to play with. Both ladies in KB and Boxercise classes are getting stronger and more confident with themselves and their strength. Makes me feel good.
Unfortunately Liam tore his hamstring, doing the 10x 100m and 5x 50m sprints on the track. He’ll have to take it easy a few days.

Tuesday: Started day of by doing 10x 100m and 5x 50m hill sprints. Might have done 120m, was a bit difficult to judge exactly where 100m start and ends. Liam thought, I was running too far. Found that I was better at sprinting uphill, than on the track. Wasn’t as fast, but felt easier to ‘run all out’.
Evening had my two classes at K2C, I participated as ‘partner’ in both. Think I got my core workout here.

Wednesday: Boxercise and some PT’s at Womens Fitness. PT’s in the spirit of Kettlebells or those who were able, Boxercise again a huge success. More than sold out on the first evening with a small sunshine and tunes of summer. I actually expected several of the girls to stay home because of the nice weather, but to my delight, they came to train. And train we did!
At evening time, Liam and I made the Millionaire shortcake. If you ever want to not like a dessert anymore, just try to make it from scratch, and see whats in it. Millionaire shortcake was an eye opener, and I’m sorry to say, I’ll never be enjoying eating a bought cake again. We are however planning to make it ourselves again, and modifying the recipe to an eatable one and maybe add roasted almonds. If you wonder why, almonds have over 21g of protein pr. 100g nuts. That’s why.

Happy, fit boxercise girls from Womens Fitness wednesday class

Thursday: Time for thaiboxing – just me and Liam.
10 min skipping
3 rounds of shadow
3 rounds of pads (for each of us)
3 rounds of bag work
Core and stretch
-Was toast afterwards –
Note: When picking up barbecue wings and thighs from Super Value, don’t pick the big ones. Smaller are tastier. Found out the hard way.
Think it was this day, we found out that the neighbours cat Penny likes to play ball. Never knew cats could be so social or fun.

Liam and I in Kru Toy t-shirts @ Brucies Gym

Friday: Daytime Thaiboxing at Brucies  – Liam, Brucie and I
5 min skipping
5 min shadowbox
Modified GPP 3 for me:
30 sec burpees
30 sec jumpin jacks
30 sec Squats
30 sec burpees
30 sec jumpin jacks
30 sec push ups
– 4 sets –
3 rounds of pads with Liam in between 3rd and 4th set. Liam did his pad work with Brucie while I did the GPP. He looked strong and sharp and finished with 300 knees and core.

Saturday: Thaiboxing at Brucies
5 min skipping
5 min shadowbox
Ross day 16 I think: Sweet 16
Tabata drill
Heavy bag work
Squats
Heavy bag work
Push ups
– 4 min pr drill, 20 sec work, 10 sec rest –
After the first 30 seconds of push ups, I was up for Pad work:
3 rounds of pads, then started over and finished the push up tabata set. Went another two rounds of pads and finished Ross day off with Sandbag carry. Three trips around the gym.
Liam did his pads and as usual, looked great while doing so. He finished with 300 knees (3x 100), I only did a 100 (1×100).

Standard

Leave a Reply

