ross training, Sport, training

Magic 50 and Penny the Cat

After Liam maxing out and getting a new PR (85kg snatch), we packed up and left for Clonakilty. As stated earlier we’re planning to do a third run on Ross Emanait’s ‘Infinete intensity 50 Day Challenge’ and since we started on day two yesterday, today was ‘day 1: Magic 50’.

Liam brought down the barbell and two 10kg plates and I was lucky enough to borrow a 12kg KB. The Magic 50 is a simple, heart pumping drill:
* 5 Swings pr arm
* 5 Snatches pr arm
* 10 Burpees
– 60 sec rest between rounds, 5 rounds total –

Training outside was lovely. Sun in the back, ocean view – but the lawn is slightly leaning and I was jumping upwards, when retracting my legs. Grass, barefoot and uneven soil made the burpees a small bit tougher than indoors, but it was definitely worth it.
I did 6 sets first, three of them with 6 reps instead of 5. Liam was doing Cleans and Snatches (Oly style) with the 40kg, for 10 reps, so he was toast after 5 rounds.
I went in the house to get a glass of water and decided to do 4 more rounds, since 10 is such an even number.

As you can see from my picture, Penny – the neighbours cat decided to keep me company, so I did all the stand up work first: 4x Swings & Snatches. Again with a 6 reps for the two sets.
Then Penny finally left and I had the blanket for myself: 40 Burpees – here you go!! I did 2x 20.

It’s with shame I have to write, we forgot to do both finisher and Core I. I guess we won’t be bored this weekend.

Magic 50 with Penny on the blanket

Standard

One thought on “Magic 50 and Penny the Cat

Leave a Reply

