Sport, training

First half marathon

This sunday I ran my first half marathon. It came about when I texted my boss on saturday to ask about payment for my classes at Womens Fitness  (turns out, I’m getting little less, than I thought 😦 but that’s another story). Anyway my boss last text was that he might be doing the bay run half marathon the next day, so he wasn’t sure how ‘good’ his weekend would be.

I told Liam about the text, making a joke about not having a good weekend after doing 21.3k. Liam started saying, that I should enter the race and even told our neighbour that I would do it. So I kind of had to do it and since I had planned to do a run in the hills of Clonakilty, I thought, I might try the Bay Run.

The goal was first of all to enter and finish. Just like a fight: Enter the ring and stay in there, no matter to the end of the fight. Here just – keep moving until crossing the finish line. Second goal was to keep time around 2 hours.

I’d finished in 1.42.35 – official time has it 1 minute later. (Not sure why).

In the gym, I did 21.3K in 1.42 something, but its different from running outside with the wind and the hills. The course can be viewed here: Bayrun half marathon course
It was a hard course with quite a few hills and I think, I ran a total of about 3K with my eyes closed. Was just so exhausted, that it felt easier to keep them closed.

Next step will be to find out how to reduce my time on the long distances. From research online, I’d take it, one way will be to increase the weekly mileage and I’m also thinking of implementing a sprint day a week.

Rest of weekend was:
Saturday – Nothing
Sunday – Half Marathon
Monday – 100 squats
Tuesday – Just finished my morning boxercise class, will do a small recovery run and  have two classes at K2C tonight.

Start field for the Bayrun half marathon 2012. I’m in the left corner, in 16th row.. or something 😉

Standard

Leave a Reply

