40 day Lent challenge, Sport, Teaching, training

Boxercising ladies

NB. I am no longer doing this class or am a part of Womensfitnessplus in Cork. Big differences in our professional ethics (or lack of same) put an end to our collaboration. I will miss all the wonderful women I’ve met in my classes and PT sessions, but I will not miss being treated with condesenting arrogance for my professional knowledge and/ or as a fellow human being.
Since Womensfitnessplus made it mandatory for their trainers to sell at least 3 Kinetica products on each shift, I had to say I wouldn’t do it. I’d give information about the products, but under no circumstances would I push the products to women, who didn’t need them. I don’t believe in selling useless stuff, or even worse telling lies to make a profit like.
I’m a fitness professional with ethics and beliefs on what’s right and whats wrong – I work for results, not for greed.
As a result our ways departed – and despite I miss the happy women – I would choose to stand by my ethics again.

 

Just got fed after my ‘busy Wednesday’ – sharwarma and fries – dinner of a champion 😉

Had two boxercise classes at Womens Fitness Cork today, and actually enjoyed both, even the morning class only had three attendance. I’ll tell you why!

For the better part of my life, martial art/ Fight Sport has had a huge piece of my heart. From I started to learn about kicking in Taekwondo, to now using all 8 limps (muay thai), I’ve found a joy and heart in these sports, I’ve never found anywhere else. Not in art, poetry, music, dance (thou it come close) or walking on the beach with the perfect sunset as a backdrop.

There’s nothing like throwing the perfect punch, a fast combination. The feeling of power, when hands, feet, legs, knees or elbows connect to pads, bags or sparring partner/ fight opponent. It’s a feeling that’s hard to describe, cause it’s like a well conducted symphony, everything fits together: years of training movements, technique, patterns. And when you hit that perfect punch, nail the combination or get that massive power in your kick, you know ‘you’re home’. It’s a culmination of hard work, trial and errors, tears and sweat.

And while I thought for a long time, that there is nothing better in the world for me – I actually discovered, that making other people fall in love with ‘my sports’ actually makes me equally happy.
– And yes, boxercise is not boxing – but it’s as close as it gets for some of the ladies and girls in my classes. And it’s fine by me! Remember some of them are in their 50’s and they are loving it!
I think it’s hard to find a more motivating argument as a trainer. Making people from all walks of life fall in love with your sport. It’s definitely a good day. Maybe Ireland likes me after all?

Training 43th day of Lent challenge:

200 KB Swings, 12kg: Alternate swings
80 KB Squats, 12kg
80 KB Lunges, 12kg

And a little of this and that. No real training for me today, as its ‘busy wednesday’. Tomorrow will be pressed for time as well. But friday and saturday should be good for muay thai, running and the dreaded Burpees!

Standard

Leave a Reply

