40 day Lent challenge, Sport, Teaching, training

‘The Wat’ test on a sad gym day!

A sad day in the gym! Not because I failed anything – just because, I simply didn’t have the power to do much about anything. Slept like crap for two nights and worked like a maniac yesterday (13 hours), so didn’t have much left for my early morning class and my training.

A little something got squeezed out somehow – among the most dreaded ‘The Wat’ test:

During morning class with ‘Make Most of March’ group, I introduced ‘The Wat’ test, Phil Nurse introduced me to, when I was training in The Wat a year and a half ago.

‘The Wat’ test:
1 min. Squats – as many as you can squeeze out
1 min. Push Ups – same same
1 min. Burpees – same, without puking!
Around 15 – 20 sec rest btw.

Introduced it midway through class and decided to compete myself, as they were uneven numbered and I felt bad for an older teacher, who otherwise had to do it on her own. Then after 10 more minutes of boxing drills, I revealed the catch: You have to do at least 1 more rep, in same amount of time – 1 min.
They weren’t very happy with that! (neither was I)

My ‘Wat test’ times:
44/ 49 Squats – have to be added, I got preoccupied picking up the watch and get time, so I could maybe have done 1 or 2 more
53/ 59 Push Ups
21/ 22 Burpees

Had a tough time on the burpees!! Almost didn’t get that last one! Felt weak and thought it was nice, that I didn’t have to do anything more. With only a couple of minutes left, I put the guys (and lady) to punch out their last energy, in a 20-20-20-30 sec set.

Phil Nurse and I at The Wat

Took a coffee break after class and when I got back into the gym, I wasn’t really feeling it, but decided to give it a try. You know – sometimes you push through and it’s a brand new day. Not today however!

Training on 37th day of Lent Challenge:
* 3K running (11.5kph)

* Bench
10x 20kg explosive from bottom (trying something different along with dips to increase my bench)
2x 5x 30kg (same)
2x 5x 35kg (same, same)

* 3x 6 pull ups + 4

*  Swissball sit ups

Oh yeah, and I’ve been dreaming about a man with a moving tattoo (a tank) – and the other night, a mean spirited hippo. What’s up with that?? Crazy I said!

Standard

Leave a Reply

