40 day Lent challenge, Sport, strength training, training

2nd challenge in the bag

Day 35 of Lent Challenge

Didn’t feel to fresh this morning and seriously thought about going home instead of going to the gym. Realized I didn’t have a day off this past weekend, because I stayed in Cork (gym access saturday and sunshine run on sunday). So just the thought of a long run or other exhausting drills was enough to make me think of leaving it.

None the less, dragged my sorry butt to the gym and decided to give it a shot, sometimes things have a way of turning around, once the endorphins start flowing. And to my great delight, this was one of those days. I was prepared to go home, head held high, even on a prematurely exit. But going today paid off!

Training and challenge day 35


* 1K running (12.5kph)

TGU
* 1x 5 TGU with 15.5kg dumbbell (each side)
* 4x 5 TGU w/ 12.5kg db (each side)
Tyrkish get ups are great!! Works the whole body, tickle your balance and when you get up, you can rightfully feel strong.  I used to do this drill with my 12kg KB – which is now in Denmark, so made do with two sizes of DB’s. Have to add, that I think the drill is more challenging with KB’s, as it’s a little more tricky to hold than the DB. Weight is more evenly distributed in last mentioned.
My first set with 15.5kg was hard, and so was last /fifth) set with left hand, with the lighter 12.5kg. But totally felt like a great work out.

Deadlift – 100kg challenge
*
 5x 70 kg
5x 80 kg
* 3x 90 kg
* 1x 100kg (PR) – Slipped grip on right hand on descending. So not sure if it would have counted on comp. day, but very happy to get it up and it didn’t even feel so heavy. However, when I tried a 2nd and 3rd time, it didn’t move from the floor. I guess, I missed ‘the boat’ – I find that in my strength training, I have these ‘windows’, where everything is possible. But if I don’t time it right, I’m not getting it.

Pull Ups/ Chin Ups
3 x 5 – alternate grip (6 chin ups)

Forgot to stretch, abs etc. 😦  – but

Standard

Leave a Reply

