40 day Lent challenge, Sport, training

Do you know the type?

Day 20 of ’40 days Lent Challenge’ (which would actually come to a 48 days, since Lent last until easter sunday!)

Had a mentally tough weekend, as I entered the Deadlift competition on saturday, despite not feeling up for it. Already on my warm up, weights felt heavy, and I had to see myself step down from my second lift, and I opted out of trying for more. There simply wasn’t anything left inside me.

Saturday:
* 1 K on the treadmill for warm up
* 2x 5x 70 kg for warm up
* 1x 85 kg in competition – Approved
* 1x 92.5 kg in competition – failed

It really sucked to back down, but in hindsight, I probably shouldn’t have entered. I did feel weak and suffered severe stomach pains on friday. But I kind of always think, that I can get away with it anyway. Weights are just not as forgiven as thaiboxing. At least not in competition – you only got one shot at the time to do your thing (3 lift in total). And there is no room for doubt.
So a hard lesson learned… not everyday I’m giving up on myself!

Sunday was rest day!

Today’s challenge – day 20th of Lent Challenge
Half a marathon (21.3 km) – got it in the bag, in around 1.42 min. Not a really good time, but not terrible either.
The best thing about my run, was the first 50 min. Felt good, flying and no pain or aches, blisters or other annoying distractions. Then, as I started on the last 9.3k, a woman decided to use the cross trainer just next to my treadmill (despite there was lots of free crosstrainers on the aisle behind us), and she just wore this heavy, smelly perfume!!
Do you know the type – who just load on perfume before training?


 I do think my sense of smell is oversensitive as it is, but this was just too much for me. The heavy musk scent almost blocked my airways and it felt, like I couldn’t breathe right. I stayed on the treadmill for 18 min and then I knew, I had to switch, if I was to carry out todays challenge.
I felt really bad for the woman, I mean, it isn’t very polite manners, to get up and move away from a ‘neighbour’, but it was either my training, challenge and goal – or being polite. I chose my challenge today.

* 21.3K in 1h and 42m
* 30 Pull Ups/ Chin Ups (3x 6 + 3x 4)
* Abs + back work

Later on Kettlebell and boxercise at Womens Fitness! (oh and picking blister on my right foot, so I can go running again tomorrow)

Standard

3 thoughts on “Do you know the type?

  1. You showed up for the comp and that means a lot, it does. I’m going to guess that this was not your first one? Was it something your were specifically training for or just some fun on a Saturday?
    My current annoyance is Axe body spray and dudes going to town on it. Stinking the whole place up…Who cares if you are stinky putting in some hard work at the gym?

  2. Thanks, it was my second comp in 1 month, but to be honest, I’m not really into powerlifting. I just do it for fun and as a great supplement to everything else in the gym. Apparently its a bad thing to try to max out twice in a week on deadlift.. Lesson learned!

Leave a Reply

