40 day Lent challenge, Sport, training

100 burpees challenge day

– 2nd day of Lent

Had originally planned to do it yesterday on the first day of Lent, but with 13 hours on the run, I just had to be realistic and do something else. (Yes, I had my first (and succesful) attempt at taming the 16kg KB!)

So today was the day: 100 burpees challenge: How fast can I do it?

Burpees! I aways try to make mine with a little push up on the floor.

The challenge and I actually met before. Around two years ago, after Liam and I did the Ross 50 day challenge, we came across the 100 burpees challenge and decided to try it out. Have to be said – thou no excuse – but I was 2 years younger, 2 – 3 kg lighter and was fit!! Thaiboxing 3 – 4 days a week + Ross = super fit!

My first meet and greet with the 100 burpees was around: 6.23  and Liam of course faster than me!!

Today given the circumstances (no Ross, no muay thai – just running and weightlifting), I aimed for a time below 7 min.

My time for 100 burpees challenge was 6.40!
Not a great time, but happy I survived and did it without puking!

After the first 50, I took a break. Desperately trying to catch my breath and convince my aching legs, that I had to continue.
Next break came after 75 and it was around here, I forgot all about doing them on time. From here it was merely a question of finishing and not quitting. So I took a break again on 90.  Afterwards of course, I feel like, I could have pushed through the last 25 and avoided that last break. So both disappointed and happy with my effort. In 38 days things should get better 😉

Minutes after the 100 Burpees challenge it was time for a little normal training:

4.1k – first 3 min walking, as I wasn’t sure my legs could hold me up. Last 500m was at 15kph. (In btw time was 12-14)

Squats
2x 5x 20kg
2x 5x 40kg
-Superset with 3x 5 pull ups)

Bench
2x 5x 20kg
2x 5x 30kg
4x 40kg

Hamstrings
3 x20 – they almost made me cry today
Pull Ups
5

Abs
Stretch
Little crying 😉

Not sure what to do for my challenges the coming days, but gotta work on something good. We’re off to Dublin tomorrow for Liam’s weightlifting competition! Class! So have to be something….. Ross like. My good, earnest old friend, I guess we meet again!

Standard

Leave a Reply

