Sport

Powerlifting and Boxercise in Ireland

NB. I am no longer doing this class or am a part of Womensfitnessplus in Cork. Big differences in our professional ethics (or lack of same) put an end to our collaboration. I will miss all the wonderful women I’ve met in my classes and PT sessions, but I will not miss being treated with condesenting arrogance for my professional knowledge and/ or as a fellow human being.
Since Womensfitnessplus made it mandatory for their trainers to sell at least 3 Kinetica products on each shift, I had to say I wouldn’t do it. I’d give information about the products, but under no circumstances would I push the products to women, who didn’t need them. I don’t believe in selling useless stuff, or even worse telling lies to make a profit like.
I’m a fitness professional with ethics and beliefs on what’s right and whats wrong – I work for results, not for greed.
As a result our ways departed – and despite I miss the happy women – I would choose to stand by my ethics again.

 

Tuesday!

AM:
5.2K in about 23 min  (Felt fast this morning, so after first 2 min warm up, I was between 4.48-3.50 for the rest of the time)

3 x 5 Pull Ups (5 chin ups)

2x 20 Full Contact Twists (30 kg)

Ab work: 100 on floor, 80 on ball
20 back on ball
Stretch

Monday!
AM:
5K on average 4.48mpk, speeded up last k

DL
4x 40
4x 60
2x 4x 80
4x 85
1x 90
1x 90

Squat
4x 20
4x 40
4x 45

Bench
4x 20
4x 30
4x 40
1x 40
Followed by ab work – app. 100 of various kinds + stretching.
In the end, it got so cold in the gym, so I couldn’t continue benching. Went to the shower as a human popsicle.

PM:

Two classes at Womens Only Fitness gym:
1. Kettlebell class. I got a new program together for this monday (my third KB class), which I really liked. Only have a few repetitions of drills and goes on by 20 or 10 reps pr. drill. Class is 45 min. and we spend around 5 min in total for warm up and cool down. Ladies were very good at the drills and a few went all 45 with a 8kg. (I’m very proud of them!)

KB program:
Swings
Squats
Mid Halo
Push Up (touch chest)
Sit Ups
Pelvic Tilt
Swings (both hands to top)
Lunges
Top Halo
Twists on knees
Push Up (touch chest)
½ TGU
Russians
Pelvic Tilt
Swings (one hand)
Windmill

2nd Class: BOXERCISE
This class is really taking off! Fully booked and was booked a week in advance – new record according to the owners. (And yes, I am very proud of that!) Boxercise was one of my favorite classes to teach back in Copenhagen, and it seems like its gonna be the same here in Ireland. (To be honest – I like teaching all my classes! Boxing however – you just can’t help falling in love with it)

To my big delight a lot of the ladies who came last monday for our Boxercise premier, returned this monday (yesterday) and did a great job.
I can’t wait till we get longer into the season – when the basics are down, a new world is going to open up for us. And as with the real deal boxing – boxercise only gets better with time!

When I moved to Ireland in november last year, I re-stated an old goal on my deadlift: 100 kg. My previous attempt was a bet with Jacob Søndergaard – an old good friend of mine. He was supposed to do 200 kg and I was supposed to reach 100kg. For reasons not recalled we decided to skip the bet and I stopped at 86 kg.

Now, I won’t be able to make 100kg saturday. But I hope to make 87.5 or 90kg.

Standard

Leave a Reply

