functionel strength training, muay thai, ross training, strength training, thaiboxing, training

First Hello in the new year

So this is gonna be my first Hello in the New Year! I would actually have thought, it would have entered sooner, but I guess not much on my mind and then too little time gave this result.

So here 8 days later – I’m in Ireland (again). Training has been picked up (again) and I actually managed to get a Personal PR (today!).

So let’s get the training down first:

Tuesday 4th:
Gym Session!

Warm Up: 12 min, 2K

Clean & Jerk (15K, 20 K, 25K) – Can’t remember how many sets and reps – but a lot! Technique suffered the first times around, as it has been a while. But came quickly again – and felt really good.
Flys 5x 6 (8K)
Pull Ups 5x 4

Wednesday 5th:
1½ hour Thaiboxing @ Brucies Gym – Really good and hard. Someone drove me under the bus with the pads
1½ hour Jujitsu @ Brucies Gym – Lot of fun! Got to try some techniques for armbar, reversing position, choke and sidecontrol

Thursday 6th:
Gym Session
Warm Up: 10 min running 2.2K

Flyes: 5x 6 (8k)
Leg raises 10x 3

Ross Circle x 7:
DB Bench Press (5 rep)
Burpees + 16K KB overhead raise (10 reps) – New one! Going down as to a burpee, instead of jumping and clapping when getting up, you take the KB from the ground and lift it above your head. Was pretty tough!!
6k KB Side raise (15 rep) – This was a little mystery for me.. I didn’t get much out of it, and I would swear the guys got even less. To be efficient we should prob have used a 10K DB.
Knee tugs (20 reps) – Always a winner and great for feeling like Kermit!

4 x 2min rds of Shadowbox
4x 2min rds of Pad work

Friday 7th:
Big Ol’ Nothin’

Saturday 8th:

1½ Hour Thaiboxing @ Brucies Gym – Pads with Bruce! My kicks seemed better today! Curse my flexibility – sometimes I forget my hip – still!!

Afternoon session:
Warm Up: 1.3K in 5 min

Snatch (trying w/ 20K barbell – fell flat on my butt) – really have to practice this one a lot more. And with a 15K barbell, as I learned it with!!

Run: 1K in 4.17 min
Clean & Press 5x 3 (20K)

Bend over row
5x 2x 16K
5x 2x 18K (PR)
5x 2x 20K (PR)

Run: 1.03K in 4.09 min

Finisher: 5x 3 Pull ups (mixed grips) – super set with – 10 x 3 leg raises

West Cork is as usual very beautiful and the sea view is from another world. I even got a christmas present – which was slightly embarrassing as I only brought for the family – Ah well did actually get two presents. A nice one and another one. Have had a rough day too.. but the sun was up again this morning – which was a bit odd, as I’d dreamt about spring time, and the loveliest blossoms!

Standard

Leave a Reply

