girltalk, love, Movies

Finally got the Sex

Welcome to a different blog. So I finally got to see, what all the fuzz – all the bad reviews was about. Friday night my friend Julie and I hit the movies to watch the female millenium bible: Sex & the City – part 2.

With all the bad reviews posted everywhere in the Danish media and some from across the big pond, my expectations were low – and before I made the decision to go and see it for myself, I was wondering if it would just be a waste of 100 dkr.

Now – reviewers often have – or pretend to have a higher sense of culture than the mere mortal ones among us. Like with Adorno and Hockheimer and their: Dialectic of Enlightenment, ‘The Culture Industry: Enlightenment as Mass Deception’. Where they scorn popular culture for being easily pleasures and serves as a danger to more high cultural produces. And while a lot of bad things can be said about mass-produced – easily consummated culture, it’s not always just bad and for the stupid.
It will also serve you entertainment, quirky little things to reflect upon and layers, which you don’t always notice. However – a safe bet is to always talk the mass productions down. To ridicule and tear it apart. Cause no one wants to be the stupid, ignorant fool, that’s easily satisfied on popular mass-produced culture?

Well, all the female reviewers wasn’t certainly not going to be satisfied on the SatC sequel, and they relentsly without mercy hammered the movie, that was supposed to close the chapter of a ‘decade’ of female reign. The time where women seriously took over the best tv hour, created a un-heard of buzz for brands – and not least left a swarm of ‘SatC’ educated women, who knew the difference between a teabag and a teebag. Women who didn’t just sit around waiting for mr right to call them – cause ‘he’s just not that into you’. Women who took life into their own hands – but yet, women who still wanted it all.

SatC closes up very nicely for me – except for a few errors. Fashion for one! If NYC was the fifth character, then fashion was the little cousin – and no matter how much anyone tells me, the 80’s are in again – (and I know lots of fashionistas are already banning me here) – but who the hell put Samantha into Michael Jacksons old stage costume?

Where's Michael?

Secondly: Carrie Bradshaw was way uninteresting to follow at times. I would much rather have seen Samantha go shopping for that sexy, yet covering dress for her dinner date with the danish architect.

And third… well there probably is a third – eight and 10th too.. but I’m not going into that now. Instead I’ll address the main critique from the danish reviewers: The scene from Abu Dhabi where the muslim women reveals whats under the hijab: Luis Vuitton spring collection.

Words from the posh reviewers was something like: distasteful message, superficial comment to women oppression in islam etc. And why I haven’t read any convincing argument for this opinion, I can’t really give one for mine. I actually liked the scene, and liked the comment, about women being women. Maybe it’s because I live in a neighbourhood where danish dressed girls in small skirts and high heels get to be called hookers, by their arab neighbours. Or maybe it’s because, I didn’t have any high expectations and was prepared for the scene.

But frankly – I find that the scene solidified Sex & the Citys status as The Show for women. Nothing more, nothing less: The voice of the urban, modern women – but not dressed as hot, as usual.

Standard

Leave a Reply

