50 day challenge, muay thai, ross training, Teaching, training

Fast and Furious & a teaching tuesday

Today:
Fast & Furious (after 1½ hours of a ‘good’ night sleep)

* 5 Pull ups (Ross says 10, but my puny arms says 5)
* 10 Swings pr arm (12 kg KB)
* 10 Plyometric push ups (jump with whole body)
* 10 Knee tucks

As many rounds in 20 minutes. I managed 10 on 17.01 minutes
Stopped after 10, as I was just happy to be alive!

Yesterday:
Teaching 4 Classes! Got to do a little myself too 🙂

Toning class:
* 30 Ski-thing with weights
* 20 Saxon sidebends (5 kg)
* 25 Squats with weight plate (5 kg)/ 25 (pr leg) Lunges w 5 kg
* 20 Push ups w/ weight
* 30 Russian side twists (5 kg)
* 25 Supermans
3 Sets
* 3 x 1 min. Wall Squats
Superset with
* 3 x 10 Jump squats
Finisher:
* 20 Push ups w/ weight
* 2 min plank
* 2 x 1 min side plank

Abs ‘n Back class:
Ball warm up: 25 front, sides and back (w/ 5 kg weight plate)
* 3 sets of ‘GSP’ Calve/core ball
* 3 x 15 V- ups
* 50 Split back on ball
* 3 sets of diff. Ball drills
* 1 min. intensive back
* 1 min. intensive abs

Boxing class:
Warm up:
* 50 KB Swings
* Circle routine (incl. frog leaps, MB Slamms, boxing etc)
* 2 x 2 min drills (time pr partner)
* Squats, Push up – time drills
* 3 min challenge

Muay Thai Beginners class:
Warm up:
2 GPP rounds:
* 30 sec burpees
* 30 sec Jumping Jacks
* 30 sec Split Jumps
* 30 sec Burpees
* 30 sec Jumping Jacks
* 30 sec Push Ups/ Squats
2 sets

Normally goes 4 sets, but they looked smashed after 2, and so was I + it was beginners, not conditioning class. So let them off the hook after two sets. One of the guys actually remarked, that he knew why it was called burpess. Said he could taste it. Tasted like iron. Haha… If you don’t taste your burpees, you don’t do enough 😉
Technique:
Diff combinations
Games (tags, one arm boxer, foot squash)

End:
Time drills (punches, knees, push ups)
Knees/ abs

All three classes seemed pretty happy afterwards – so was I to be able to go home, take a shower and relax. However in the muay thai beginners class, I might should have said more. From some of the guys and gals, I could see, they did the opposite of what I said. F.ex. ‘Shoulders down, elbows in’ when punching – or ‘turn foot’ when kicking. Looking back, I probably should have said a little more, than just given the rules. But had taken time to explain why.
I guess it’s from my classes at Fitness.dk – and as a student myself, I really dislike a trainer, that just goes on and on. You don’t want to get cold in the gym, while someone polishing of their ego and passing out endless amounts of ‘gold’ – however – you do also sometimes want to know why you should do things a certain way (or get examples of why its a good idea). I think however, some of the drills created an explanation in itself.

Hm.. I will give this some more thought, so I’m prepared if I have to take that class again.

Unfortunately I opted out of the Fast and Furious day (yesterday), because I suddenly had 3½ hours in the gym, so that was left for me to do, today.
And so I did – in record time.
Dang!!

Standard

Leave a Reply

