muay thai, training

Back Off

Back Off – strength day. Day 46

Back Off – strength day, is not really a back off strength day. At least not for me! I think Ross must have been in his humourous mode when he made up the name, for this drill. Cause there’s nothing ‘back off’ about it.( but then again – Ross is a crazy strong guy. So for him, it’s probably equal to a day off).Β  On the contrary it’s very demanding, even its only consists on body weight exercises. – So here’s something for your homegym πŸ˜‰

But the day didn’t start out with this. Day started out with some muay thai side by side with Liam in an empty Siam. Really nice and always a good challenge for me to up my game – as I can look to him for technique and speed. (I’m gonna miss training with him like crazy!!)

Morning Muay thai drill:

* 10 min skipping
* 3 rounds of shadow
* 5 rounds of bag (1: boxing & elbows, 2: kick & knee, 3 – 5: everything)
* 300 knees
* 200 teeps
* 200 abs/ 50 back
* Photoshoot πŸ˜‰

Making fighter pic for Liam - what a treat

Afternoon was spend meeting up with a friend of ours, Ole B Laursen and his brothers. Had a cosy lunch – but a little disappointed on food (Riz Raz lunch buffet). And then we went home and I had blissfully forgot everything about it being thursday today – so I got a half heart attack at 15.45, discovering I should be by the gym again, teaching girls class. Hurried out the door – painfully realizing I was one of the trainers I hated myself: The ones that let you stand by a closed door waiting. As I arrived about 8 minutes later, none was waiting for me, so my hope is, the girls forgot to come today.

So went back home and relaxed for about an hour, then boyfriend decides it was time for yet another drill. We discussed what kind of action, would suit this thursday. We had multiple choices: 6 clock class in Siam (But Liam said it wasn’t so good last thursday – but then – there’s the easiness of being told what to do), second choice was sprint + 5 K + core or the last option: Back Off strength day + the finisher (running).

This is how I looked after morning training. Be happy, it wasn't after the evening

We opted for the last option, as we rationalized, we’d be more ready after a sprint morning – for the friday night evening class at Siam tomorrow night, than after a strength morning. So be it. Second time around, I had the ‘pleasure’ of trying this ‘Back Off’ day.

Back Off strength day consists of 6 drills:
* Handstand push ups (Only able to go 1/3 – 1/2 down)
* Pull Ups ( Liam has no comment – but I think I’m getting there)
* Pistols (down to horizontal – and a little below)
* One arm push ups (getting better – good, but no cigar)
* Gluteham raises (strange exercise, that tear my ligaments back in the knee)
* Bodyweight triceps extensions (struggled to be able to do this exercise correct, also it was stressing on my wrists)

So how did I do? Well, we went through the drills 4 times (4 sets), and my favorite round was the second. First one I wasn’t really warmed up – but that changed quickly.
* 1 set: 3, 5, 4, 4, 5, 2
* 2 set: 4, 5, 5, 6, 4, 3
* 3 set: 5, 3, 5, 5, 4, 2
* 4 set: 2, 3, 4, 3, 4, 3

We discussed my lack of strength to do some of the drills correctly – like the handstand push up and triceps extension. I have chosen to go about it in a way that lets me perform, the best I can, and with my strength growing and drills are getting familiar, I’ll hopefully be able to do better and better. So it’s a learning curve for me as well as getting stronger.

We ended the evening session with a 6K in a very good pace. Liam was warmed up by the Back Off training, so he set the pace high from the beginning. To be honest, I was trying to keep up most of the way, and even speculated if I should skip a lake, and just jog home. But fortunately I hung in there and finished of strong. Last 700 meters – not exactly sprinting, but close (overtaking everything in our path) – had to stop and catch my breath, and could see Liam off and away in the distant. Felt very sorry for myself, as I ran home alone πŸ˜‰

Nanna with some of our toys

Standard

Leave a Reply

