muay thai, strength training, thaiboxing, training

Work capacity 101

Yesterday was another one of those grueling workouts from the R-bible. Bf did it some weeks ago, while I was preparing for my fight. So back then, I had the pleasure of watching and timing him, while I could relax after 5 rounds of shadow. Yesterday it became my turn to feel the pain – alongside the boyfriend.

It wasn’t as bad, as it sounded – but is definetly one of the hardest WO’s in the Ross bible.

Work capacity 101:
* 5 Pull-ups
* 10 Medicine Ball Slamms
* 15 Burpees
* 20 Jumping Jacks
Aim is 10 sets (or do as many as you can in 20 minutes) – 2 minutes for each set. Finisher – walking with sandbag

We actually finished each set around 1.10 – 1.15 minute, and then had a short break for about 20 – 30 sec. before moving into the next set. I have to admit thou, that doing pull-ups is still something I need to get better at – so I only did between 2 – 4 correct ones, and took the rest (btw. 1 – 3) with a little off-set with my feet. (We did pull up from the ribs).

BF (Liam) doing pull-ups

Everything else was done by the book. By me – and of course, the training wise, impeccable bf. Burpees (by the very nature of its existance) took the price as being the hardest drill by far. And for some reason my body adjusted to do the 10 burpees, so they felt sort of easy (which is A wrong expression to use on burpees) – but the last 5 burpees was ridicoules hard. Around 12 or 13th, the legs really starts to burn. And by the time I reached 15th, I was on Bambi legs, trying to get my body aligned for the jumping jacks.

We got the whole routine down in around 19th minutes, and finished of carrying tires, as there where no sandbags in the gym. After we proceeded to stretch and do some ab work. 200 of different variations – and a back bridge for me  (front and back bridge for bf).

Me training at Muay Thai Academy, with Ed Bilbasoo, North Hollywood

We did a second session in the evening: Muay Thai/ bagwork. My workout consisted of about 10 minutes skipping, and then 3 rounds of shadow. We got a little interrupted by brilliant boxing coach Poul Duvil, whom we had a little talk on Mads Larsen vs Brian Magee, and he got some good advice for Liam and his hand. So after the brief intermission, we continued the session, with 6 rounds of bag work. Kept the rounds at 3 – 4 minutes, with a measly ½ minute breaks in between.

Ended session with 400 knees (boyfriend did 500), before proceeding to 200 teeps. I did an additional 100 knees after my teeps, since I felt the pressure from Liams 500 😉

Knee training with Master Toddy, Vegas

Today is sprint, core and muay thai day

Standard

Leave a Reply

