functionel strength training, strength training, training, Uncategorized

Camera, lights, action

Headline doesn’t really have anything to say about this blog. It just sounded really good in the Britney Spears song ‘Kill the lights’. And why would I listen to that? I’ve been running for the first time in.. uhm… days…yesterday after my class. So Ipod logged on, music to the max – and away we go. (Or so I always hope, before I start out). Yesterday however, wasn’t ‘away we gooooo’. It was more like… ‘uh puf… here we come.. wait up’.In other words, not the best running performance and the worst thing is – you just feel too heavy, after a run like that.But the heart was light, as I saw my classes perform brilliantly!

The happy feeling came from two of my Tuesday classes: I teach 3 classes in Fitness.dk (ABC). Two short 30 min. (tighten up, abs & back class) classes and a 1 hour boxing conditioning class. ‘Unfortunately’ for my class, I’ve began experimenting with Ross Training programme as a supplement to my muay thai training, and this means, that my classes often gets exposed to single Ross drills. Sometimes I alter them a little, but basically I make them do different GPP’s, Density day and different core routines.

Ross Training

Yesterday we did half the strength workout: Wall squats and squat jumps (x5), in the end of the 30 min. class. In class I’d took some core exercises and paired them up with one back excercise, so we did have 4 drills (V-ups, Russian side twists, push ups and back excercise), each going for 30 seconds – for 4 sets. Only one minute break between set 2 and 3. It has to be said, that this class only consists of women (in all ages and shapes) – so it could be a very feminine class – but luckily these ladies like to push them selves, and I couldn’t be more proud, than seeing them pull through the class, and giving that little extra.

Especially the last 5 minutes of wall squats and squat jumps. How incredible these ladies just bite their teeth, and went along! I’m full of awe – not ONE of them gave up! They all strived to do their best!!

For my boxing class its mixed group: both men and women, the age spread is not as remarkable as in the first two classes, but there’s a good variety. And ‘my regulars’ likes to be pushed, so that’s what I’m aiming for in my classes. Challenge them and their ability to push through. Naturally we do different stuff than the ‘All ladies class’,  but the main focus is the same. Stay with the programme. Dont give up. Your body are capable of more than you think. And in most cases this is true. However – I did send someone to the locker room before time.. and it wasnt intended. Appearances can deceit. She was one of those young, slim girls, who looks like they’re in good shape, but the conditioning and muscle part is missing. ‘Funny’ enough, its like the girl in the ad for Fitness World. She’s also slim -bording to skinny, and doesn’t look, like she has a muscle in her body. A state which apparently is called Skinny-fat. (A skinny person, without a muscle in their body. Who therefor has a high fat percentage).
Anyway, I hope the poor girl feels better today!

Skinny-fat girl in Fitness World ad

The guys liked the challenge of course, and the regular girls are also into the ‘Hitler-drills’, as my boyfriend so ‘lovingly’ called my training one day. But hey! If you don’t make people sweat, they feel cheated! And yes – I always do the dreadful drills with my classes. Who am I to demand this workload from them, if I can’t perform myself? And like I tell them – its true for me – the body adjust. What seems like a killer one week, will the next month be a walk in the park. Quite magnificent!

Back to the run, there wasn’t anything magically or magnificent about my 4.5 km for 20 minutes work. Legs were tired after wall squats and alternated GPP Workout 3 (Burpees, jumping jacks, squats, burpees, jumping jacks, pushups: 30 sec each= 1 set. we did 5 sets, 1 min or 45 sec rest between the sets). But the music was good.

Standard

Leave a Reply

