friends, martial arts, strength training, thaiboxing, training

Problems with undressing has differents causes

Week has so far been good to me. In my quest for training, I tried out a new gym this week. It’s a thaigym, and the first one, I’ve been to in Denmark. The other places I’ve been training, has been both kick and thaibox, with an emphasis on kickbox techniques.

Tuesday was so lovely, but quite hard, left me bruised – with a very sore elbow (think it took a blow by a knee on a kicking drill) – but it was really good, and the guys are quite nice.

It was also the first time in a very long time, I’ve had ‘sparring’ session (not free thou), with hard contact.

Training left me on a floating high and today when I left work earlier, to take (and give) another beating, it was with a big smile on my face. Unfortunately it poured down rain, on my way from work – and with Nanna getting soaked in the bicyle basket, there was quite a wet dog to attend to, when I reached home, to get my stuff and change.
Nanna in the bicycle basket

We did a really good drill today, which – to my suprise, I haven’t encountered any where else – not at the different boxing classes I’ve attended, or in any kick/ thaibox club. It was straight forward: 4 straight punches to the face – cover up and change. Left me exhausted and showed without a doubt, how hard it is, to keep looking, when being bombed.

Just before class ended, elbow took yet another knee. Had a hard time getting undressed…

Could be due to the fact, we did a little padwork after ‘sparring’ – or my Full contact twist drill?

Or maybe it’s because I’ve been doing 6 reps in my weight drills? My sweet friend Mika, had a session with an ‘instructor’ (Hmrf) from Fitness.dk. Unfortunately did the sligther overweighted ‘instructor’ tell my friend a lot of BS.

Amongst the ‘words of wisdom’ were: “NO! You can’t do 6 reps, its straight out dangerous!” and yet another price-frase, after being told, my friend would like to train 6 days a week: “I think you’re gonna quit”.
The ‘Instructor’ from fitness.dk?

Guess it just showes that some gym instructors really doesn’t have a clue… and perhaps shouldn’t be allowed to coach anyone. On the other hand…. no… there’s really no excuse for so obviously ignorant behavior from someone, who’s getting paid for instructing/ helping others.

Embarrasing!!

Not quite sure was the weekend has in store – hopefully some hot company. Tomorrow will bring it thou; Will have dinner with hot, beautifull asian chicks. (Yes! I’m very lucky! I know)

Saturday will feature an excellent boxtraining with Ivor De Lima, my coach – Johnny De Lima’s dad. Always good to have Ivor visiting and sharing some of his knowledge.

And tomorrow also featuring yet another boxing girl – cool Linda, whom I’ve met at Mikkel Kesslers sparring session with my friend Lolenga Mock, will be joining me for Johnnys class. And – hopefully Marcus – an old friend and teammate from kickboxing will be there too – sparring with Dion, our local heavy weigth.

And before I ‘leave the building’: Hannah and Sara! I’m so not jalous at you too running around in the land of smiles – smiling, training and sun tanning. I so rather be here: cold, wet and freezing… (I hope to join you later this year girls!) All my best! Chok dee!!

Standard

Leave a Reply

